Dream Trips

This morning I found out a friend is heading off to Europe for two weeks and one of my friends just got back and I can’t help but be jealous. Europe is the one place I’ve always wanted to visit, I’ve been working two jobs for five years to save up for two big events (a wedding and Europe). I’ve worked 70 hour weeks and tried to save as much as I can once all the surprise costs (hello broken down car…etc) allow me to put money aside. Just as I have enough to go I have another road block and I can’t go, it’s not financial which is the most frustrating.

I’ll never give up on going to Europe but when do you decide that it’s not going to happen for a long time and move on?

Have you had this experience? Do share!!

13 thoughts on “Dream Trips

  1. You’ll make it happen. I always thought I’d go to Paris before I had a kid, but it didn’t happen so I’m going to wait a few more years. The grandparents better realize we’re gonna dump the kiddies at their place for a few weeks!

  2. Don’t give up on it! Just set aside the money and then commit to going. We were waffling because we wanted to do a pre-baby Europe trip. Half the battle is committing to it, even though it’s something fun. Just go. There will always be reasons you don’t go. Obviously be responsible with your money, but there are always going to be obligations that will prevent you from going. There is never a good time to up and leave the country for two weeks.

    • This must be a bucket list thing for a lot of people, good to know.

      You know it’s because I don’t get Vacation Time for a year, so I’d have to wait until Oct. to go, which wouldn’t be bad if it wasn’t so cold… Maybe I should do Christmas in Paris?

  3. I totally know how you feel! I feel this way about vacations and other things in life, too. You work towards a goal and as soon as it gets close something else pops up that gets in the way. So maybe you can’t go as soon as planned, but look at it this way, now you can save even more $$ and maybe do something REALLY exciting on the trip you couldn’t otherwise have done before or stay at an even fancier hotel. Or maybe just buy a really fabulou souvenir instead!

  4. The best thing I found when we went to France was to pick a date and stick with it. Then you have an end time to your goal and that helps a ton. You said you don’t have vacation until Oct., so you pick a time after that and really try to stick with it, that’s what finally helped us, that and we had friends who were planning to go at the same time as us so we went together.

  5. We used Rick Steves’ travel book and it was awesome! We also stayed at out of the way places that the travel book suggested and that saved a ton of money.

  6. Sorry Meghan! I agree with the other ladies… and Christmas in Paris sounds romantic. :) You can NEVER give up on your dream, it might not happen exactly when you want it to, but that doesn’t mean that it won’t happen.

Leave a Reply

