Sugar Addiction

Sugar Addiction

 

My name is Meghan, and I am addicted to sugar.

All joking aside, I truly believe I have a sugar addiction. I’m not sure where the turn happened. Before I had Logan…The sugar monster came out once a month, and I’m sure you can guess when. After Logan, I crave it all the time. I can down a pan of brownies in two days, eat three cupcakes without blinking, and it has to stop. I truly have an addiction because I say to myself “Well, I just ate fruit so I can have a couple of tootsie rolls” or “I drank 8oz of water so It will wash away this candy bar.”

I feel like I am going to be the thinnest person ever dealing with diabetes if I don’t stop.

But. How do I stop?

My first step is to get rid of the sugar that isn’t needed. I’m talking cakes, candies, soda’s, etc. My second step is to have courage and lean on my husband for help.

…and see where it goes from there.

Give me your tips, idea’s, and encouragement. I know I’m going to need it.

12 thoughts on “Sugar Addiction

  1. Do you drink soda? I found once I have up soda diet and non I didn’t crave sugar as much. I still have my binges but it’s not an everyday thing anymore. Try not having sugar/treats in your house at all. Good luck.

  2. I can completely relate! I’m the type of person who would rather eat brownies than a steak any day!!
    I’ve (tried) to cut back-beginning with soda and full-sugar coffee creamer. I also switched to sugar-free ice cream. You see, my daughter has type 1 diabetes. (And no, you cannot develop diabetes from eating too much sugar) I’ve developed the attitude that if she shouldn’t eat it-I shouldn’t either!
    My best suggestion is to ask yourself “would I give Logan this?” If not, walk away.
    Best of luck.

  3. Hi Meghan!
    When cutting back on anything, it helps to first find out how much you’re eating. So try just writing down (or taking a picture of) every sweet treat you eat for a couple days. Then figure out a reasonable goal to work towards, and then figure out some steps in between. So say maybe you eat 20 cupcakes in a day (being ridiculous here but just an example) that’s kind of a lot, so you might say “well I guess I could probably cut down to 15 cupcakes” and then spend a week where you are like “ok 15 cupcakes only” and then the next week maybe 10 if you are doing well, 12 if you had a hard time, and maybe even 5 if you are up to the challenge.
    Another trick I use to cut back on something is to designate specific times to eat that thing so maybe “I can have a cupcake after lunch and a cupcake after dinner”
    Also you can try subbing in less-bad-for-you sweet treats, like one square of chocolate instead of a whole cupcake or candy bar. My personal favorites are york peppermint patties and Dove dark chocolate squares (individually wrapped). The smaller you make the portions the easier it is to limit. You mentioned tootsie rolls, which are already on the less-bad-for-you-side. When I am trying to avoid something, I do my best to keep it out of the house. I don’t even walk down the candy aisle in the store or I walk but don’t look, or I decide before I walk through the aisle that I am not going to get anything. I don’t want to be a liar even to myself, so saying “I won’t have a cookie” is pretty convincing for me, but definitely not for everyone. Getting the cookies out of sight helps and avoiding boredom helps too. If you eat sweets right after you drink water, maybe go finish your water in Logan’s room and then spend a few minutes reading him a book to keep your mind out of the cookie jar.
    Anyway that’s all I’m going to write or I’ll be here all day.

    • All good tips! That is why I posted this… I’ve done the math and the sugar isn’t a good.

      I’m really good at not buying it, but if it’s around I lose control…so to speak.

      It’s getting better! Thanks for your advice

  4. The more sugar you eat, the more your body craves it. I’m not Catholic, but I participate in Lent every year and give up sugar (I, too, am a sugar junkie). After the 40 days (42 usually), I really don’t ‘want’ sugar anymore. Well.. not anywhere like I was pre-Lent. After Lent, if I am absolutely craving sugar, I use the ‘cut it in half’ rule. Want cake? Cut the piece in half. Want Krispy Kreme donuts? Cut it in half… =)

  5. Replace it with something or you’ll have a harder time at first. Sometimes sugar cravings can be linked to a Vitamin C deficiency. Eat Vitamin C rich foods as a snack when you feel the craving for sugar. And keep the water coming! :)

  6. I find the tireder I am the more sugar I want, the more comfort type food I want. I go through cycles where I love sweet stuff or love savory stuff. It seem my latest love of sweetness is lasting a long time. I try to not have it around but discovered I am better having some choc around on occasion (my weakness) than not because otherwise I will eat anything sweet and a lot more of it because it just doesn’t do it for me. I am loving other’s ideas on here.

  7. If you don’t want to eat it, don’t have it in the house. You can’t eat what isn’t there :-) I’ve found that a single square of dark chocolate (at least 70% cocao) every day helps me avoid bingeing on sugar the rest of the day. And when I really crave the sugar, I go for fruit. At least I’m getting good stuff and not refined empty calories.

    When you bake, cut the sugar in the recipe by 1/4 to 1/3. You’ll find it’s plenty sweet and you won’t miss the extra sugar.

Leave a Reply

